You are here > Home > Recordings

Tonight Only!

Tonight Only! - Album cover

Label: Columbia
Year: 1960
Released on LP: Yes
Released on CD: Yes


1. Weep No More
2. Briar Bush
3. Paradiddle Joe
4. Strange Meadow Lark
5. Tristesse
6. Melanctha
7. Late Lament
8. Tonight Only
9. Talkin' and Walkin'


Dave Brubeck (piano)
Paul Desmond (alto sax)
Joe Morello (drums)
Eugene Wright (bass)


1. This was the first out of three collaborations between Dave Brubeck and singer Carmen McRae.

2. Recorded on September 9th, December 14th /15th 1960 in NYC.

3. Never released by Columbia on CD.

4. Released by “American Jazz Classics” in 2011 on CD (same album cover as Columbia LP).

This CD contains 5 additional tracks.

"There’ll Be No Tomorrow" recorded from one of the 1960 sessions appeared on the LP –“Points on Jazz” and had never appeared on CD before.

“In The Lurch” and “My One Bad Habit” were included in “The Real Ambassadors” album.

“Summer Song was included in “The Real Ambassadors” CD re-mastered release - it was not on the original LP .

Easy As You Go was included on “ Take Five- Carmen McRae – Dave Brubeck".


All Music Guide – Review – copyright

One of the more obscure Dave Brubeck albums is really a showcase for the young singer Carmen McRae who performs nine numbers: six composed by the pianist/leader, one song apiece by altoist Paul Desmond and bassist Eugene Wright and the lesser-known standard "Paradiddle Joe." McRae is in fine voice but strangely enough all of the songs (except for "Strange Meadowlark") have been long forgotten. Stronger material would have resulted in a more memorable session.

Scott Yanow

© Copyright Rovi Corporation

Back to recordings