You are here > Home > Recordings

The 1965 Canadian Concert

The 1965 Canadian Concert   - CD cover

Other Album Covers & Images

The 1965 Canadian Concert   - LP cover - Can-Am Records LP cover - Can-Am Records

Label: Gambit Records
Year: 1965
Released on LP: Yes
Released on CD: Yes


1. St. Louis Blues
2. Take the 'A' Train
3. Cultural Exchange
4. Tangerine
5. Someday My Prince Will Come
6. These Foolish Things
7. Koto Song
8. Take Five

Bonus Tracks

9. St. Louis Blues
10. Nomad
11. Thank You
12. Brandenburg Gate (Incomplete)


Dave Brubeck (piano)
Paul Desmond (alto sax)
Joe Morello (drums)
Eugene Wright (bass)


1. This was originally released on LP - CAN-AM Records (CDN) as “The Canadian Concert of Dave Brubeck”.

2. The recording date was 22nd August 1965.

3. It was released by Gambit Records (EU) on CD in 2008 as “Dave Brubeck - The 1965 Canadian Concert".

4. The CD release included 4 additional bonus tracks not released on the CD. They are from a KQED TV, San Francisco, 5th February 1962. These tracks were previously released on another bootleg - Moon Records - "St. Louis Blues".


All Music Guide - copyright

The Dave Brubeck Quartet (with altoist Paul Desmond, bassist Eugene Wright, and drummer Joe Morello) is in excellent form for this typical program from the mid-'60s. In addition to standards such as "St. Louis Blues," "Tangerine," and "These Foolish Things," they perform Brubeck's originals "Cultural Exchange" and "Koto Song" along with a brief version of "Take Five."

Scott Yanow

© Copyright Rovi Corporation

Press release by Gambit Records on CD issue.

Presented here for the first time ever on CD, this release contains a splendid 1965 concert by the Dave Brubeck Quartet with Paul Desmond recorded in Ontario, Canada. Here then is the quartet under the ideal and stimulating surroundings of the Stratford Music Festival. A live, knowledgeable audience always brought out the quartet's best efforts. The rapport and interchange of ideas between Dave Brubeck and Paul Desmond and between the quartet itself was a thing of beauty. Dave is at his creative and swinging (contrary to a few so-called critics, probably the same critics who claimed Monk did not swing) best on this recording, while Paul's ideas flow, sing, and build effortlessly and naturally. A superb concert.

Back to recordings