You are here > Home > Recordings

Southern Scene

Southern Scene - Album cover

Other Album Covers & Images

Southern Scene - Solar CD - Southern Scene & The Riddle ( back cover of CD)Solar CD - Southern Scene & The Riddle ( back cover of CD)
Southern Scene - Fontana LP cover Fontana LP cover

Label: Columbia
Year: 1960
Released on LP: Yes
Released on CD: Yes


1. Oh, Susannah
2. When It's Sleepy Time Down South
3. Little Rock Getaway
4. I Dream of Jeannie With the Light Brown Hair
5. Deep In The Heart Of Texas
6. Darktown Strutters' Ball
7. Nobody Knows the Trouble I've Seen
8. Happy Times
9. Darling Nellie Gray
10. Southern Scene


Dave Brubeck (piano)
Paul Desmond (alto sax)
Joe Morello (drums)
Eugene Wright (bass)


1. Recorded September and October, New York City, 1959.

2. Released by Sony Japan as CD in mini LP, SRCS 9363.

Released in standard CD format in Japan under the "Sony Master Sound" series - Sony Records SRCS 9363.

3. Never released by Columbia on CD outside Japan

4. Included in the Columbia Legacy release in 2011 – “The Dave Brubeck Quartet - The Columbia Studio Albums Collection 1955 - 1966” - 19 albums packaged in a replica mini-LP sleeve.

5. "Southern Scene " was released in Europe in 2010 as part of a double CD with " The Riddle" on the Solar label. It could do so as a result of the European 50 year ruling on copyright.


All Music Guide – Review – copyright

For some reason Dave Brubeck was motivated to record a second album of songs associated with the South (as a follow-up to Gone with the Wind) and the results form this LP, a trio set without altoist Paul Desmond. The eight standards range from "Oh Susanna" and "Little Rock Getaway" to "Darktown Strutters Ball" and "Darling Nellie Gray"; in addition two originals in the style round out the well-played but somewhat forgettable program.

Scott Yanow

© Copyright Rovi Corporation

Back to recordings